Tyre Pressures Now Checked In the MOT Test

2nd November 2018

With the recent changes in the way your annual MOT is carried out, it is more important than ever to keep on top of your vehicle?s tyre pressure. As from the 20th May 2018, there have been some changes to the way the MOT is done, with new categories being added to the test itself, and new documentation to reflect these changes let?s take a quick rundown of the new test and what things have changed:

1. No More MOT For Vehicles Over 40 Years Old?

As part of the new MOT changes, your vehicle may not require an MOT if it falls under all of the following categories:

  • Your vehicle is a car, van, motorcycle or other light passenger vehicle
  • It is over 40 years old
  • It has not been substantially changed

2. Stricter Rules For Diesel Vehicles

The new changes have seen a crackdown on diesel emissions from diesel cars that have a diesel particulate filter (DPF), which stores exhaust soot to reduce emissions to diesel cars.

You must test your diesel vehicle to the manufacturer?s plate value, or alternatively on a new lower default limit for newer vehicles.

Your diesel vehicle will get a major fault for either of the following:

  • There is visible smoke of any colour coming from the exhaust
  • There is evidence that the DPF has been tampered with

3. New Additions To the MOT Test

As well as all of the old categories, there have been some new things added to the MOT test which your vehicle will be tested on. These include the following:

  • If tyres are obviously underinflated
  • If the brake fluid has been contaminated
  • For fluid leaks posing an environmental risk
  • Brake pad warning lights and if brake pads or discs are missing
  • Reversing lights on vehicles first used from 1st September 2009
  • Headlight washers on vehicles first used from 1st September 2009 (if they have them)
  • Daytime running lights on vehicles first used from 1st March 2018 (most of these vehicles will have their first MOT in 2021 when they?re 3 years old)

Three New Defect Categories

There are now three defect categories for the MOT which should make any issues which arise much clearer for motorists to understand and rectify. The categories are now:

Dangerous ? Posing a direct or immediate risk to road safety or has a serious impact on the environment. This would be a fail.

Major ? It may affect the vehicles safety, put other road users at risk or have an impact on the environment. This would be a fail.

Minor ? No significant effect on the safety of the vehicle or impact on the environment. This would be a pass.

Advisory ? It could become more serious in the future. This would be a pass.

Pass ? It meets the minimum legal standard. This would be a pass.

Checking Your Tyre Pressure

With around 10% of all MOT faults being down to tyre issues, it seems like a no brainer to check before your test to avoid any failures. We have plenty of easy to follow information on our site for checking tyre pressure, and if you?re still unsure you can come to your local Tyre Group branch and we will lend a hand!

Buy tyres online with The Tyre Group for fitment at one of our branches in the Midlands, South West England, South Wales and Scotland Contact The Tyre Group incorporating Malvern Tyres, Discount Tyres, County Tyre, King David Tyres Ltd and AutoTyre & Battery Co. We have more than 50 branches located throughout the Midlands, South West England, South Wales and Scotland